Meeting with Dr. Wang

When the days just can’t get any more stressful, you gotta go find your tranquilizer. I did. Or shall I say, my tranquilizer lies in the roots of my stress — unfinished jobs. A few days ago, I got too many reports due, smeary-data, clueless presentation, tennis business, and "the conversations." They were all in my head already, but ain’t ready to trigger my motor neurons yet. They just sat there to stimulate my adrenal cortex for stress hormones that’s been causing me rolls of toilet paper, diarhea, and pounds. Today, I’m taking them on. I haven’t been able to get them all out of the way in one day, but I’m so glad I am finally pinning them down one by one.
 
The most significant of all, I’m finally speaking with Dr. Wang. Man to man. Face to Face. The thought began a LONG time ago when I started planning my graduate study. I knew Dr. Wang was the one I wanted to reach out my hand for. He’s seen me long enough, with his sharp eyes of course. And he’s seen me on various extraordinary occasions that I consider challenging situations. So it’s possible and likely that he might just have that special vision to see "the differences" in me.
 
Since he’s going to step out of the office by the end of the month, I knew the phone call has gotta be rang this week. Anxiously, after a few more "re-considerations," I picked up the phone to call Judy. She was on the phone. Next time I called, she was away. Damn. The third time. Finally. And I was still nervous. It felt like it’s meant to be. My body just treated occasions like this more serious than speaking solely in front of a whole symposium crowd. Whatever, I got my idea acrossed. Judy asked me to send her my CV and setted up an appointment for me the next day at two. Much Appreciated Judy.
 
1350. I was already standing outside the main entrance. The lone male secretary invited me to go sit down on "the couch of guest" I suppose. I sat there for a few minutes reading through all the invited speakers for the humanity lecture sessions, thinking about all the little quotes I’ve heard about these lectures. The couch might be comfy, but I was damn nervous…and the situation got worse when swarms of secretaries walked out the little room, each of them looking at me to see which wierdo with mustach is waiting to see a near-retirement-head. What could I do? I tried to nod with some of the familiar faces, but the truth is….they all looked just the same !! Finally Judy saw me from Dr. Wang’s office and told him that I was there. Within seconds, I knew I was going in !!
 
And there he was…greeting me…in English. So we sat down. First Question…"what can I do for you?" Was I in a restaurant ? Damn…He made the whole process the way I had considered before. He wanted me to take the initiative. He’s always been. Since day I back in 2002 when I first stepped into his office. Back then the conversation was in English because I knew Miki was there. Today the conversation was ALSO in English because…the first sentence was in English? Don’t know. I’m glad it was in English, because I wasn’t sure if I would be capable of speaking formally in Mandarine or Taiwanese with such a stern face. I expressed my options on graduate studies, Cheng Da and the US. And my thoughts on studying in Physiology of NCKU, prof Chen, and why I wanted to go there. He agreed with my idea of seeing difference institutes, finding my own way, and introduced me the well-known prof Dr. Tang. I guess my character showed again…for good or bad… I told him that I was facinated by Prof Chen right after he told me how much I could learn from Dr. Tang. Oh well. At least I was displaying myself fully. I was glad he was open to my open. Then I told him what I had prepared for him…my CV and thoughts, and preferable his own opinion prior to reading them. Right then was really worth all the waiting and sweats. He in a way taught me how to find a goal and aim at it. By focusing. He sees that undergrads in Taiwan are not nearly as concentrated on academic as the North Americans, therefore Taiwense students are less mature when they graduate. He sees my strength in being able to CONCENTRATE. Therefore he believes that when I become a graduate student, I would be able to gather my attention and strive hard. When I heard those words, I really felt my lunch was about to go in vien. But yeah, it’s true. I haven’t been nearly as focus as my freshmen year, when Campbell was almost like Bible. Sharp Eyes, like always. He also addressed the differenes of being a recognized Sports Physiologist and Sports Physician. Man, finally someone is NOT persuading me into post-bachelorate M. And yes, I like the idea of becoming a recognized Sports Physiologist, making great "Impact" contributions of course. I also shared my thoughts on what I treasure the most about KMU, the extra-curriculum activities, and prof-student relationship. I wasn’t sure if he had agreed with me on me rather being an KMU elite alumni than a mediocore Harvard (Canaidan or US version) graduate, but at least I stood for my stance. I also asked him how does he feel after these years in KMU. And just like I’ve expected. It was worth it. I knew there were definitely up’s and down’s that had caused him all those wrinkles I didn’t see in 2002. But really, all those tough times just made all the journey that much more precious and gratifying. He recognized the contributions. I told him my career plan is to come back to KMU and to make a change.  In the end we spoke about his retirement life, half of the time in KMU, and lots of tennis. Stay fit, boss.
 
Overally speaking, it was probably the most challenging yet unique 20 minutes I have ever been since that interview with Mr. Ross back in 97. Last time when something like this happened, my life switched from the local boulevard to interstate highway. Ain’t sure what’s going to happen this time, but I know it’s gonna be good. I ma make it good. I really feel in someways that Dr. Wang and I do have principles/Concepts in common. We are both open for new ideas, yet are certain of the golden rules. We both consider "making contribution/influence" a more intergral part of life than settling for the easy and smooth ride (and bucks).  Maybe that’s why I’m taking the mid night prior to another semester ORC report to record all these down. I am feel’n it. Heck, who else has the opportunity to meet with the Principle 3 days before his retirement ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

